about
bars
blog stuff
blogs
business
cities
daily
food
internet
maximus kitchen
movies
multimedia wonders
music
NGO
trips
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren

 
Lavapiés is one of my favorite barrios in Madrid. Nothing is more enjoyable than spending a sunny Sunday afternoon in this culturally so diverse district of Spain's capital.

As a home to thousands of immigrants, Lavapiés has earned itself a somehow seedy reputation. Nevertheless, I haven't had any bad experience there until last night when I became (indirect) witness of a homicide. Emiliano, a 20 year old guy from Ecuador was stabbed four times in the street where my girlfriend lives and right when this happend, some friends and I were in a bar about 20 meters from the site of the crime.. My friends even saw how the killer threw a stone on the head of the victim when he was already lying on the floor. The ambulance arrived really fast (especially for Spain), but apparently the kid died soon afterwards in the hospital.

Here is an article about the killing. My condolations to all friends and relatives of the victim.